Age Symbols

Age Classification Symbols

There are time schedules and certain age groups which have to be considered:

Adults 18 years and above: late night (11 p.m. – 6.00 a.m.)

Adolescents 16 years and above: late evening (10.00 p.m. – 11.00 p.m.)

Children 12 years and above: primetime (from 8.00 p.m. – 10.00 p.m.)

Children under 12 years, however, cinema films classified with "12" may be shown during the daytime, if they are not considered harmful to younger children: daytime (6.00 a.m. – 8.00 p.m.):

Children 6 years and above: without restriction

Children 0 years and above: without restriction

Programme Information

The FSF informs the consumers about its decisions. The ProgrammInfos (programme information) provide a brief summary of the arguments regarding the protection of minors, which are drawn from the reports prepared after examining each programme.

Moreover, the symbols for age ratings and the three-tier scale of the risk categories fear, violence, disorientation, sex and (problematic) use of language enable one to determine immediately the age from which a respective programme will not impair an individual’s development as well as which negative effects can be expected and how far they might extend.

Here is the example of the ProgrammInfo for Game of Thrones:

Age Classification